Every day, there are hundreds of accidents caused by someone else’s negligence. Most people don’t know what to do in such a situation, and “confusion” is the best word to describe what happens after the accident.
Luckily, there is a simple solution – filing a personal injury claim. What most people don’t know is how to file a claim, how much time they have to do it, and should they hire an attorney and will it cost them more than they could afford to pay.
Here are the answers to those questions, and a guide on how to file a personal injury claim in Florida.
First Things First
As soon as you are involved in an accident where you suffered an injury (as a result of someone else’s negligence), seek medical help. Taking care of your health is your number one priority. Do yourself a favor and do not think about the medical expenses, as that will only put more stress on you and slow down your healing process. Instead, think of it this way – it is not your fault, and someone will have to pay for it. Literally.
Once your health is stable, you should research the law a little bit. If you don’t have time to deal with that, they advise you to contact one of their Miami personal injury attorneys and schedule an initial consultation, completely free of charge. They will help evaluate your case, provide you with legal counsel, and if hired, help you receive compensation for your injuries. It is not going to be easy, but without an attorney, your chances of receiving the settlement you deserve are 70 percent lower.
Respect The Deadline
Every state has a statute of limitations – the time you have to file a claim once the accident happens. In Florida, you have four years from the day of the accident to file a personal injury claim. That is plenty of time to decide what you want to do, receive several different opinions from skilled attorneys, and recover from your injuries.
Once you decide that you want to file a claim, you have to understand how the process works:
- Sending a “demand letter” – formally requesting payment for the damages done to you and your property
- Negotiating the settlement with the insurance company
- If the agreement can’t be made, the case will proceed to trial
Once you (or your attorney) file a complaint, the court will start the procedure which may take up to 18 months to finish. Buckle up, as the process may be exhausting and stressful.
According to statistics, 95 percent of cases are solved before trial. The reason is simple – mediation. To have a successful mediation process, contact their personal injury attorneys today, and seek their help in obtaining the settlement you deserve. Let their attorneys deal with the insurance companies, and negotiate the deal on your behalf. Contact them as soon as you can so that they can begin working on your case as quickly as possible. Time is of the highest essence.