Regardless of the state in which you live, driving while intoxicated is a serious offense. Causing an accident while intoxicated can have serious consequences.
- You could get jailed
- You will lose your driver’s license
- You will have to pay fines and fees
- You will be charged with DUI
- You may face a lawsuit from the other party involved
Some states have more serious laws when it comes to DUI, and want to encourage drivers to take a cab after a night of drinking. In Utah, every motorist who is pulled over and has any amount of alcohol in their blood will be charged with DUI. The limit of alcohol in the blood is 0.05%, and any amount above that is punishable by the law.
But just how dangerous is driving while intoxicated?
One-Third Of All Accidents
According to the statistics (provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration), around 35 percent of all car accidents are related to DUI. This means that the number of people who drive while intoxicated is concerningly high.
Driving with a high level of alcohol in your blood gives you a sense of “false control”, allowing you to think that you are in control of your vehicle when you are not. Your senses are reduced to a minimum, your eyes almost-closed and your focus is non-existent. While driving in such condition, the chances are that you will either hit a rail or collide with another vehicle. In both cases, someone will get injured (Whether you or your passengers or another party) or even die as a result of an accident.
Driving with any amount of alcohol in your blood surpassing 0.05% is against the law and considered illegal. If you are pulled over with alcohol in your blood, you will face serious charges. Contact Salt Lake City DUI Attorneys and see if there is a way to receive compensation for your injuries after getting involved in a DUI accident.
In the state of Utah, there are different types of penalties for getting pulled over for DUI. Based on your age and the amount of alcohol in your blood, you could face the following consequences:
- Jail time (Maximum 180 days in jail, mandatory 2 days or 48h for a first offense, mandatory 10 days in jail for a 2nd offense and a maximum of 5 years in prison or a mandatory 62 days in jail if prison is not ordered for a 3rd offense)
- Fines and Fees (1st offense – minimum of $1,300, 2nd offense – minimum of $1500, 3rd offense –minimum of $2,850)
- Driver’s License Suspension (120 days, revoked for 2 years based on the number of offenses)
- Ignition Interlock Device (1 year mandatory, 2-year mandatory based on the number of offenses)
Speak with DUI Attorneys in Salt Lake City and see if they can help you avoid getting jailed. Perhaps the office did not read you your rights or did not do everything properly after arresting you for DUI. If there is a way, our attorneys will help you find it and minimize your penalty if that is possible. Use your one free call wisely, and call the right group of attorneys.